WHEATLAND, MO. (September 11, 2019) – After a successful debut of the completely revamped format last year, the WAR Sprints will return to the Jesse Hockett/Daniel McMillin Memorial with the same preliminary program and a slightly altered championship format on Saturday. A full breakdown of the updated format can be found at the bottom along with updated preliminary nights with 59 cars at the moment.

Following a successful introduction of split preliminary nights, the Thursday and Friday portion will remain the same with the current 59-car field divided into two and racing on one of the two nights. The prelims will again feature group qualifying, heat races, qualifiers, semi mains and a 25-lap feature, while the name of the game is points, points and more points.

Switching from last year’s dual C-Main, and dual B-Main format on Saturday, this year’s championship program will feature the addition of Rocket Races and a Non-Qualifiers Feature, offering racers and fans more excitement.

The top 10 in combined points from preliminary nights will lock-in for the Pole Shuffle, which brought fans to their feet in thrilling fashion when it debuted last year. 11th and beyond in points will split into four Rocket Races, essentially heat races that offer the top two finishers a transfer to the big dance.

From there, the bottom 10-12 in points will run a special Non-Qualifiers Feature with extra money on the line, while all those in between will split into B-Mains where the final few feature spots will be filled. After that, the 24-car field will battle it out for 30 laps in the $3,077/Win, $400/Start Jesse Hockett/Daniel McMillin Memorial main event.

As of now, the POWRi Lucas Oil WAR Sprint League has 59 drivers from 13 different states entered for the ninth annual Jesse Hockett/Daniel McMillin Memorial at Lucas Oil Speedway on September 19-21.

Preliminary Night Format: (Subject to Change, Dependent Upon Car Count)

  • Drivers will pill draw to split the field into hot lap groups, with a max of 10 cars.
  • Hot laps will serve as group qualifying, so you will hot lap with your heat race.
  • From group qualifying, times will be utilized to line up (4) heat races with a four-car inversion. Thus, quick time starts 4th, second-quick starts 3rd, third-quick starts 2nd, etc.
  • Heat races will be eight laps in length.
  • After heats, points will be used to line up (3) qualifiers with the top 18 inverted, meaning the top six in each qualifier.
  • Thus, high point man starts 6th in qualifier one, next starts 6th in qualifier two, etc.
  • Qualifiers will be ten laps in distance.
  • After qualifiers, the top 16 in points will lock-in for the preliminary feature with all others heading to B-Main, lined straight up off points.
  • B-Main will be 12 laps with the top 4 finishers transferring to the tail of the feature.
  • The 25-lap feature will be lined up by points with an eight-car inversion, thus high point man starts 8th, next starts 7th, next starts 6th, etc.

Saturday Night Format: (Subject to Change, Dependent Upon Car Count)

  • The top 10 in combined points from Thur/Fri prelims will lock-in for the Pole Shuffle.
  • The Pole Shuffle is four rounds of Green-White-Checkered races between four cars to determine the main event line up for the front five rows.
  • 7th-8th-9th-10th will face off with the top two staying on track to race 5th-6th, the process continues until 1st-2nd take on the transfers of round three in the final four-car dash.
  • 11th and beyond will split into four Rocket Races, a set of eight-lappers like heat races.
  • Rocket Races are lined straight up by combined points with the top two finishers locking-in for the main event.
  • At the conclusion of Rocket Races, the bottom 10-12 in points will run their own non-qualifiers feature, a special 10-lapper giving them a unique chance to battle for extra money and an opportunity to shine.
  • 19th on back (excluding non-qualifiers) will split into (2) B-Mains with the top three finishers transferring to the main event, if 3 B’s needed then top two transfer.
  • The $3,077/Win, $400/Start main event goes GREEN for 30 laps.

The Points System:
Group Qualifying (One-Point Drop Off)… 1st (10), 2nd (9), 3rd (8), etc.
Heat Races (Two-Point Drop Off)… 1st (20), 2nd (18), 3rd (16), etc… (+1 PT Per Pass)
Qualifiers (Three-Point Drop Off)… 1st (50), 2nd (47), 3rd (44), etc… (+2 PTS Per Pass)
B-Main Non-Transfers… 1st (65), 2nd (63), 3rd (61), etc.
Feature (Four-Point Drop Off)… 1st (150), 2nd (146), 3rd (142), etc… (+3 PTS Per Pass)

Thursday, September 19 Qualifiers – Mesilla Valley Transportation Night
00 – Thomas Meseraull (San Jose, CA)
02 – Dillon Burks (Healdton, OK)
1 – Paul White (Temple, TX)
2 – Jason Billups (Holt, MO)
2X – Zach Clark (Olathe, KS)
5$ - Danny Smith (Sapulpa, OK)
6P – Chris Phillips (Plainfield, IN)
9X – Paul Nienhiser (Chapin, IL)
14 – Kyle Lewis (Spring Hill, KS)
18 – Terry Richards (Denton, NE)
20 – Steve Thomas (Rantoul, IL)
24 – Landon Simon (Tipp City, OH)
24H – Ty Hulsey (Owasso, OK)
28 – Kory Schudy (Springfield, MO)
28M – Brandon Mattox (Cory, IN)
29 – Mitch Wissmiller (Saybrook, IL)
30B – Quinton Benson (Emma, MO)
31 – Dylan Kadous (Topeka, KS)
31B – Joe B. Miller (Millersville, MO)
32 – Garrett Aitken (Paris, IL)
42 – Warren Johnson (Overland Park, KS)
51 – Mitchell Moore (Edgerton, KS)
52 – Cody Gentry (Henderson, KY)
57 – Chase Parson (Abilene, TX)
73 – Samuel Wagner (Lone Jack, MO)
90 – Riley Kreisel (Warsaw, MO)
96 – Taylor Peterson (Tulsa, OK)
97 – Kevin Cummings (Tulsa, OK)
99 – Korey Weyant (Springfield, IL)

Friday, September 20 Qualifiers – Rockwell Security Night
01 – Logan Seavey (Sutter, CA)
4 – Braydon Cromwell (Lone Jack, MO)
5C – Colten Cottle (Kansas, IL)
5D – Zach Daum (Pocahontas, IL)
6 – Mario Clouser (Auburn, IL)
7R – JD Black (Grain Valley, MO)
9$ - Kyle Clark (Sapulpa, OK)
11W – Wyatt Burks (Topeka, KS)
12 – Wesley Smith (Nixa, MO)
13 – Grant Wresche (Kellyville, OK)
16 – Anthony Nicholson (Bartlett, TN)
21C – Chris Desselle (Richmond, MO)
22 – Jeff Pellersels (Woodbury, MN)
22S – Slater Helt (Harrisonville, MO)
24C – Craig Carroll (Collinsville, OK)
31S – Austin Sears (Macomb, IL)
36 – Kevin Reed (Mirando, TX)
37 – Brian Beebe (Oak Grove, MO)
41 – Brad Wyatt (Kearney, MO)
54 – Trey Gropp (Lincoln, NE)
56 – Mitchell Davis (Auburn, IL)
65 – Chris Parkinson (Gladstone, MO)
72 – Al Thomas (Ludlow, IL)
73S – Lane Stone (Concordia, MO)
77 – Jack Wagner (Lone Jack, MO)
77K – Katlynn Leer (Moulton, IA)
90X – Patrick Budde (Bartelso, IL)
91 – Gunner Ramey (Sedalia, MO)
99B – Brady Bacon (Broken Arrow, OK)

Fear not if you failed to pre-enter, entry to the Hockett/McMillin Memorial will remain open until the conclusion of pill draw on Friday night. You can mail your entry to 1660 Fox Drive Martinsville, IN 46151, email it to, or show up at the track. Entry is now bumped to $100 with pre-entry in the rear-view mirror, and your preliminary night will be assigned to you. You can find an entry form at

Heath Lawson Photo

Article Credit: Brian Walker


2021 Perricone...


Edwards wins OC...


New HP2 Styles...



No upcoming events


No upcoming events


2021 Perricone Western PA Raci...

In 2020 Jim was able to relocate and...more

Edwards wins OCRS finale, Chap...

By John Rittenoure - CANEY, Kans....more

New HP2 Styles Added to Websit...

Good news! We have added new HP2...more

Did You Know

Hinchman first entered Victory Lane at...


The wrap around buttoned collar was...


Nightly Brian Miser puts a Hinchman...